Testimonials2020-08-04T00:09:08-07:00
Ed Malles for Justice Of The Peace North Mesa Arizona, thank you

These letters were written on my behalf when I was campaigning for an appointment to Justice of the Peace in 2019. They do not necessarily indicate an endorsement in the current 2020 election race. To read each letter in its entirety, click or tap the red text or black plus symbol. To read from a different group, click or tap the red category name or the word “All”.

I am very pleased to present this letter of recommendation for Ed Malles. As an attorney, I’ve worked with Constable Malles for many years. He has a great work ethic and his people skills, coupled with his compassion, have made him very effective in difficult situations, like evictions.

The North Mesa Justice Court would be well served with Ed Malles as Justice of the Peace.

I am happy to answer any questions you might have. Please feel free to contact me by email at mayor@mesaaz.gov.

Thank you for your consideration.”

John Giles, Mayor of Mesa
Diane Chesley Cook2020-08-04T00:05:04-07:00

October 10, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson, 10th floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

RE: Appointment of Constable Ed Malles as Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

I have known Ed Malles personally and professionally since 1997 when he was elected as Constable of the North Mesa Justice Court and I was the Court Manager.

I am familiar with the office and duties of both the Constable and the Justice of the Peace, having worked for the Maricopa County Justice Courts for 35 years and six Justices of the Peace. My deceased husband was also a Constable for 24 years.

While carrying out his Constable duties, Ed Malles was respectful of the individuals he was executing a writ upon, acting with the guide of “leave a man an out”, or, in other words, allow a person in a hard place to maintain their dignity.

Ed Malles was always respectful, accessible, and helpful in his interactions with the court’s clerks.

Ed Malles’ experience gives him an edge. He is smart, he is the utmost professional, and his temperament is non-confrontational but at the same time, commanding respect.

I can recommend Mr. Malles as Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Sincerely,
Diane Chesley Cook
1254 N 24th St.
Mesa, AZ 85213

Steve Ramsbacher2020-08-03T23:56:40-07:00

October 16, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix. AZ 85003

RE: the appointment of Constable Ed Malles to the Justice of the Peace North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors:

Constable Ed Malles participated in the Maricopa County Justice Courts’ new employee orientation program. He provided new court staff with an informative overview of the duties and responsibilities of a constable in Maricopa County. Among his many admirable qualities as a constable was the fact that he did not carry a weapon. He to amicably resolve conflict in highly volatile situations.

As the former, now retired, Director of Education & Training for the Maricopa County Justice Courts, I would highly recommend Constable Malles for the position of Justice of the Peace in Maricopa County. His dedication to detail, compassion for an equitable resolution and honorable contributions to the citizens of Maricopa County, make him an excellent candidate for the position he is seeking.

Respectfully,
Steve Ramsbacher
42985 W. Kingfisher Drive
Maricopa, AZ 85138

Jodie Will2020-08-03T23:48:18-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona, 85003

Date: October 6, 2019

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors,

I have had the pleasure of knowing Mr. Ed Malles for the past 6 years. I worked with him at the North Mesa Justice Court and have had the privilege of having him as a friend ever since.

There are many attributes that I appreciated in Mr. Malles while I worked with him at North Mesa Justice Court. I was in the position of Court Clerk and had to call on Mr. Malles on several occasions regarding Evictions. One of the most impressive things is that Mr. Malles always answered his phone. No matter what he was doing, or how busy he was, he made it a point to always answer his phone and to do so with a positive demeanor.

Some of the things I learned about Mr. Malles while working with him, were that he was always punctual, able to diffuse any situation he was placed into and was known to be genuinely concerned about the individuals he was evicting. He would go out of his way to let the individuals being evicted, not only what time he would be there, but also followed up with them either by calling or texting as he got close. He was very personable with the individuals and never made them feel uneasy by carrying a gun. Mr. Malles believes in talking through the situations, being firm but fair in the situation, while remaining compassionate for the individual.

I also remember a few times where we knew that an unruly or unstable defendant would be in our court. We called on Mr. Malles, and due to his concern for the staff’s safety, he always responded to the court, to help maintain order, and let us know that we were safe on his watch.

On a personal note, Mr. Malles has proved to be a true friend to me and my family. When I was working at the North Mesa Justice Court, my family and I went on a family vacation and I had asked a friend to watch over my house in our absence. When my air conditioner went out, that individual called Mr. Malles, knowing that he always helps a friend in need. Not only did he fix our air conditioner, but he didn’t even charge us for any labor! When it went out again a couple of years later, I called on Mr. Malles again, wondering if he would be able to help. Not only did he come over to check out what the problem was, but he spent two full days (in the middle of the Arizona summer heat), helping my husband and my son take apart our unit, fix it, and put it back together again.

For these reasons and so many more, I humbly request that you consider Mr. Malles for the appointment of Constable to the Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Jodie Will
mrsjbwjr@yahoo.com

Harriet Ramsbacher2020-08-03T23:24:50-07:00

October 16, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

RE: the appointment of Constable Ed Malles to the Justice of the Peace North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors:

I worked as a clerk at the North Mesa Justice Court for approximately 3 years (2009 – 2012), during which time Ed Malles was the constable. He was a constant presence at the court, always professional, and focused on his job. I dealt specifically with him for several months working the Forcible Detainer desk at the court. He was easy to contact and always responsive to my questions and concerns.

Although I am now retired from the AZ Supreme Court, I remember Ed as a perfectionist concerned with providing great service to his constituents, very diligent and totally devoted to getting his job done efficiently.

If appointed, I am confident he would make an excellent Justice of the Peace.

Sincerely,
Harriet Ramsbacher
42985 W. Kingfisher Drive
Maricopa, AZ 85138
harrietramsbacher@gmail.com

Kimberly Rust2020-08-03T23:15:07-07:00

Kimberly Rust
108 W Main St
Payson, AZ 85541

9/10/2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W Jefferson 10th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Honorable Board of Supervisors,

I have had the privilege of working with Constable Ed Malles for 2 years. Ed Malles has always been receptive to any and all documents that I have asked him to serve in the course of his duties. He always completes the service for me in an efficient and timely manner. I do not have to continuously follow up with him as he maintains communication on the status of the service.

I have been working as the Constable Clerk in Gila County for 13 years, and Ed Malles has been extremely easy to work with. He consistently presents himself in a professional manner. Ed has always been reliable and dependable in the collaboration I have had with him.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Rust

Former Constable William Taylor2020-08-03T08:23:08-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson
Phoenix, Arizona, 85003

9/9/19

To Address to the Board of Supervisors,

To whom it may concern, I am writing this letter for Ed Malles for Justice of the Peace. My
name is William Taylor. l was a constable at East Mesa Justice Court from January 1st, 1991 to December 21st, 2014. I am a lifetime resident. I’ve lived here for 64 years. My father was a retired dentist. My brother is a retired dentist. Since I was young, my parents have been politically active. I know the Arnett family and Fred Arnett was a very lazy constable. It took him a month before he did a writ. I also know Kyle Jones and his wife. His wife used to be a dental assistant to my father. Over the years, Kyle has made people upset when he served the city council. If you want somebody who is a winner, that person would be Constable Ed Malles. I trained Ed Malles when he first started and he is a hard-working constable. He’s had no complaints and is liked by judges and attorneys. Also, Ed is very active in his district. When he campaigns, he hits every Republican door in his district at least three-to-four times. Whoever you appoint, Ed Malles will beat them out.

Sincerely,
William Taylor

Constable Ted Gremmel2020-08-03T08:18:03-07:00

August 30, 2019

Dear Board of Supervisors,

This is in reference to Constable Ed Malles being considered for appointment to Justice of the Peace.

Greetings, my name is Ted Gremmel and I am the newly elected Constable for Pinal County JP6. Having only been a Constable for the past several months, my experience with Constable Malles are limited. However, having been a government employee for more than 29 years, and as a retired Surveillance Officer from the Pinal County Adult Probation Department, I have a great deal of experience in dealing with all sorts of people.

With that said, please allow me to briefly share my observations with having dealt with Constable Ed Malles. Since assuming my position as Constable, I have had more interactions with Constable Malles than any other Constable outside of my County. This comes in two-fold.

First, Constable Malles sends my office more documents to be served than any other Constables Offices within the State of Arizona. I believe this partly comes about as a result of our precincts being so demographically close, but also because of Constable Malles’ diligence to ensure services which he is unable to serve demographically, he forwards these services to the appropriate precinct to be served by that Constable.

Secondly, since taking office back in January, it was not uncommon for me to have questions that I would like to run by other Constables. I quickly discovered that getting some Constables to either answer their phone or to return calls was not always easy. However, with Constable Malles, he is always good about taking and returning calls, so much so, that Constable Malles is often the first person I’ll call when seeking a second opinion related to the duties of Constable.

In closing, while I do not know whether or not Constable Ed Malles would make a good Justice of the Peace, one thing I am confident in saying is that in my observations and experience in dealing with Constable Ed Malles is that he is very passionate about doing a good job.

Respectfully,
Ted Gremmel,
Constable for Pinal JP6

Constable Brandon Giles2020-08-03T08:07:55-07:00

October 11, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona, 85003

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Dear Supervisors,

I am writing on behalf of Ed Malles regarding the position of Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court. I have worked with Ed for the past two and a half years and it has been a pleasure to work with him. I’m serving as the West Mesa constable and our areas border each other. Ed and I have had a lot of time working with each other as we have served as Constables. He has been a great leader and was a real help to me when I was first appointed as Constable. He has the most experience as Constable in our area so he is always the person to talk to when any of us would have questions about the work that we were doing. Ed was always available to meet or take my call when I had questions regarding my responsibility as Constable.

For the past year, I’ve been serving as the area coordinator for the Mesa constables. When I first took on this responsibility I knew that I would need help from Ed to help me figure out the best ways to delegate and communicate with the other Constables. Ed has always shown great leadership within our area and takes initiative when he sees something that we can be doing better as a group. Our area has worked well together since I’ve been Constable. Ed has helped organize meetings within our area so that we can talk about concerns or other problems that we are seeing within our responsibilities. These meetings that he has organized has helped our area grow closer together and work better with each other. I give Ed credit for how well our area works together.

For the reasons listed above is why I would think Ed would make a great Justice of the Peace. His work ethic and knowledge will be a strength In the position of Justice of the Peace. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,
Brandon Giles

Constable Ken Allen2020-08-03T08:09:34-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Members of the board,

My name is Ken Allen and I’m currently serving as the East Mesa Constable. Please allow me to get right to the point. When I was elected Constable in 2015, Constable Ed Malles was someone who immediately reached out and introduced himself to me, and let it be known that he was an available resource.

He quickly became someone I looked up to and reached out to often as he was always available regardless of the time of day or night. He set the bar so high in terms of work ethic that it didn’t take me long to realize this was not an 8-5 p.m. job — it was a “get the job done regardless of day or time of night” kind of job. His willingness to lead from the front by being flexible and filling in for other Constable’s in spur of the moment situations have been instrumental in creating a feeling of brotherhood and unity across the Mesa courts and beyond.

I am in my fifth year now, and there are still times when I reach out to Constable Malles to get clarification and support. I have all the faith in the world that Constable Malles will do an incredible job as North Mesa Justice Of The Peace. His knowledge of the court process, his integrity, and his work ethic are an inspiration to myself as well as my fellow Constables. I’m actually excited for the great citizens of North Mesa to have Constable Malles serve as their new Justice Of The Peace because they will be getting a most outstanding individual.

Best,
Constable Ken Allen

J. Kevin Jones, Deputy Constable2020-08-03T08:10:49-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Dear Supervisors,

My name is J. Kevin Jones, and I retired last year after serving 21 years as the San Marcos Constable. During my 21 years as Constable, I was elected by my peers as the first presiding constable as well as the President, the Vice President, and then a board member of the Arizona Constables Association.

I have known Ed Malles for over 20 years and I believe he would perform very well as the North Mesa Justice of the Peace because he has always been dependable and detail-oriented when it comes to knowing Arizona statutes, rules, and regulations related to his job duties.

Through the years that I served as Constable, when I needed help covering my court due to a death in the family or unexpected surgery, Ed was the first one I would call because he is dependable and I knew he would make sure my court was covered even on very short notice, Not only did Ed keep up with my court while covering his own, he would keep me informed of any issues that arose or that might need attention when I returned.

I am now employed as a Deputy Constable serving all of the Mesa Justice Courts, and as part of my duties I cover Ed’s precinct, and in doing so I have had the opportunity to speak with many of Ed’s constituents personally and have heard many good things about how Ed has built professional relationships within the community he serves. I think Ed would take pride in serving as North Mesa Justice of the Peace and would take the time needed to make sure he is making the right decisions in following the law and in making sure justice is served fairly.

Thank you for your time, and please do not hesitate to call me at 602-292-4042 if you have any questions.

J. Kevin Jones
Deputy Constable

Kevin T. Harris, Deputy Constable2020-08-03T08:14:33-07:00

Clerk of the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors
301 W Jefferson, 10th Flr.
Phoenix, AZ 85003

RE: Upcoming appointment to the office of North Mesa Justice of the Peace.

Members of the Board,

Allow me to introduce myself, my name is Kevin Harris and I am currently employed as a Deputy Constable with the Maricopa County Constable’s Warrant Unit. Prior to this Deputy position, I was a Civil Deputy covering all of the Mesa Justice Courts, including North Mesa. I have served as a Deputy with the Constables office approaching seven years now and prior to that appointment, I was a City of Phoenix Police Officer and Detective for thirty-three years.

During my nearly forty years in law enforcement I have worked with various police agencies, Federal, Superior, and Justice courts as well as various Federal and local government agencies. During this period I have been exposed to all levels of government elected officials, as well as government employees. I feel that I have worked in this field long enough to have an educated opinion about many positions within the law enforcement and the Judicial communities here in Maricopa County. Based upon these years of experience, and having worked directly with Constable Ed Malles while a Civil Deputy, I would like to express an opinion about filling the position of Justice of the Peace for the North Mesa Precinct.

In my humble opinion, Constable Malles would be an excellent choice to fill the position of a Justice of the Peace, especially in the North Mesa Precinct where he has served the community for 20 years as Constable. I highly recommend him due to his service as a Constable in that very court, and the relationship that he has built over the years with both staff and the community at large. I cannot think of a more logical choice to fill that position. I have always observed Constable Malles to be task-orientated, impartial, and ruled by logic, facts, and the law while fulfilling his duties. I have also witnessed his ability to work with the public in fair and a highly professional manner while earning the respect and support of both his peers and of the North Mesa community In a position that is at times very emotionally charged. I know that he will be able to bring that same ability to calmly judge any court case based upon facts without prejudice in a fair and professional way.

Thank you for allowing me to express my opinion and I can be reached for any further comment or clarification at 602-290-7514.

Kevin T. Harris
Deputy Constable.

Michael Hill, President2020-08-02T09:10:50-07:00

HOMETREND PROPERTY MANAGEMENT & REAL ESTATE. INC.
P.O. Box 8538, Mesa, AZ 85214 • Direct: 480-227-8265 • Email: mike@hometrendrentals.com

October 19, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W Jefferson, Tenth Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Re: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

My name is Mike Hill, owner of a successful East Valley property management company since 1992, and have been managing properties in Arizona for 30 years.

I have known Ed Malles the first year he became a Constable for the courts. From my first writ with Mr. Malles to my last writ, he has always been professional and respectful to me as well as the residents/tenants he was removing from my rentals. One of Mr. Malles’ greatest attributes that have benefitted my business is his punctuality — quick to contact us and timely schedule tenant removal once he received the writ paperwork (can’t claim that about some of the other constables over the years).

On several occasions, I have had evictions where I considered the situations tense and potentially dangerous based on the tenant’s aggressive, threatening behavior. Each time Mr. Malles approached the situation with diplomacy and calm resolve, having the ability to exemplify authority through enforcement of the law and yet showing kindness to those being removed from their home. On both occasions, I was impressed with his ability to diffuse the tenant’s aggressive behavior and willfully getting them to timely vacate the premises without aggression.

If Mr. Malles is provided the opportunity to be Justice of the Peace, I am all in. His approach to his job reminds me a lot like the late Judge Goodman in East Mesa Courts. Judge Goodman treated everyone with respect, kindness, and compassion without compromising his judicial stewardship. You could see it in the behavior in his staff and in his courtroom. You sensed that he had a true love for people, for fairness and justice while serving the community. I have the same perspective of Ed Malles while he performed his Constable duties over the years.

Sincerely,
Michael Hill
President
Hometrend Property Manager

Sam Biggs, President2020-07-27T00:23:32-07:00

Friday, October 11, 2019

Clerk of the Board Of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson St, 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

RE: THE APPOINTMENT OF CONSTABLE ED MALLES TO JUSTICE OF THE PEACE OF NORTH MESA JUSTICE COURT

Dear Supervisors,

I am adding my support, confidence, and recommendation for Ed Malles to be appointed Justice of the Peace for the North Mesa Justice Court. I think it’s significant to note that my first meeting with Ed Malles was when he knocked on our door, campaigning be Constable. Since then he has visited us several times for our support. I think this is relevant because it shows his character of engaging with the community, that he cares about his service and takes it very seriously, and that he knows who he serves and works for. He is a very genuine person.

Below are a few reasons for my support. All points are based on my nearly two decades of personal experience with Constable Malles assisting me with my rental properties.

Constable Malles has always handled matters very promptly and communicates well. His response time has always been quick which has been important to me as a property owner. He communicates well before our visit and coordinates with me. He is always on time and follows up with me when necessary. He never leaves unfinished work. Constable Malles will always answer his phone when I call, even when I don’t have an active eviction.

Constable Malles has a professional demeanor, both with my tenants and myself as the owner. I appreciate his professionalism with my tenants as they are often in a difficult and unfortunate situation. I appreciate that he treats them with respect and dignity. My residents have never felt threatened by him because his demeanor is very empathetic and non-confrontational. At the same time, he is professional with me as the owner in making sure my property is protected and my rights enforced. He has a great balance in how he handles each situation.

Constable Malles provides safety and security. At times my wife had to handle an eviction and I always knew she would be safe with Constable Malles, He has her safety, in mind at all times. It’s evident he is safety conscious when he directs her where to stand, when to move, when to enter the apartment, etc.I can trust that situations will not escalate when he is handling an eviction.

Constable Malles maintains excellent relationships with all he works with. His memory is incredible and this provides great consistency to my business.

With nearly two decades of experience working with Constable Ed Malles, I can offer my full support, recommendation, and commendation as one who would be excellent as a Justice of the Peace in the North Mesa Justice Court.

Sincerely,
Sam Biggs
President
BPM Management, LLC
480-584-3450 (office)

Jennifer Zwisler, Broker | Owner2020-07-27T00:05:44-07:00

Prime Time, Inc.
1959 S. Power Road, Suite 103-411
Mesa, AZ 85204 • 480-833-7228 • email@prirnetimeproperties.com

October 5, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W Jefferson, Tenth Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Re: The Appointment of Constable Ed Molles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors,

I have worked full time in property management in Mesa since 1993, starting as a Leasing Agent in a Mesa apartment complex, then as the Business Manager of Mesa apartment complexes, and finally owning my own property management company. It is very safe to say that in the past 26 years. I have had to initiate upwards of 100 evictions which resulted in many, many interactions with Constables executing Writs. I have worked with Constable Malles in Mesa since 1997. Since 2000, I have managed properties Valleywide, and I have worked with different Constables in many cities of the Metro Phoenix area.

Needless to say, these evictions can be very tense, even dangerous. Constable Malles stands out as a consummate professional and has executed each and every one of his writs in a professional, safe, and compassionate yet very firm manner. I will always remember a particular eviction at an apartment in Mesa, where the young mother being evicted was distraught beyond belief. Constable Malles calmly explained to her that she was out of time and absolutely had to go, but that he would transport her and her baby to alternate lodging and make some calls to agencies for help for her. Her boyfriend had disappeared, not paying the rent, leaving her with no phone -and taking the family vehicle. At the lowest point in her life, he fully and professionally executed his job. but also showed compassion.

There have been many evictions that could have ended very badly due to very aggressive and confrontational individuals, but Constable Malles has an incredible way of diffusing these situations and creating a very safe environment for all involved. All property managers appreciate this beyond belief. He answers his phone, arranges a game plan, and discusses safety protocol prior to meeting for the Writ execution.

In short, I absolutely recommend Constable Malles for the Justice of the Peace position. He will be a credit to the North Mesa Justice Court.

Respectfully submitted,
Jennifer Zwisler
Broker/Owner
Prime Time Inc.

Beth McConn, Office Manager2020-07-26T23:48:31-07:00

September 23rd, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson 10th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

 

Dear Sirs / Madame:

My name is Beth McConn, I have been in the property management field for 30+ years. I am the office manager for Apartment Hunters.

It has been my pleasure to work with Constable Ed Malles for the past 19 years.

This is a very difficult position as we are required by the job we hold to evict and remove people, families from their homes.

I have found that Constable Malles has the same principles and values that I do.

Treat all people with kindness and try to understand they are being removed from their homes.

Treat everyone with compassion by remembering this is a life-altering change and we don’t know what is happening in their personal lives.

Never judge, simply offer assistance or referrals if possible.

Constable Ed Malles has these qualities and it is my belief that he would make an excellent judge. His kindness extends to the pets left behind. He has helped our office staff collect dogs and kittens to transport to shelter for safety.

I will be available to answer any, questions you may have regarding the last 19 years working with Constable Malles.

It has been my honor to work with someone with his capacity to be fair and carry out his required duties.

 

Sincerely,
Beth McConn

Jill Moughler, Operations Manager2020-07-26T23:27:11-07:00

October 4, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson, Tenth Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

I have personally worked with Constable Ed Malles for many years regarding evictions. Ed is always pleasant and very informative when speaking with him on the phone. He always answers his phone and if he does not answer, he calls back as soon as he can.

Ed is very punctual, and if for some reason he is running behind, we know well in advance so our technicians are not wasting time waiting on him. Ed is professional and diplomatic when arriving at a property. He can defuse a hostile situation by his calm demeanor. The teammates that have worked with him have good words about him and feel he cares about their safety and the safety of tenants.

We had a situation where tenants were scammed and thought they had paid us to move into a unit. Ed was concerned so he made a phone call to the police for the safety of all because when the door was opened there was broken glass on the floor and something just did not feel right. There was an arrest made with this eviction for illegal activity.

It is not easy to evict people from a home, especially when children and pets are involved. Ed has made the right decisions on all the evictions he has worked on with us. I wish all constables had the compassion and dedication that Ed has in his job.

Sincerely,
Jill Moughler
Operations Manager
RPM East Valley

H. Steven Johnson, Designated Broker2020-07-26T23:14:47-07:00

October 10, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, Street, Tenth Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Re: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Dear Supervisors,

I’ve known Ed Malles for 25 years or so. I’ve seen Mr. Malles at several community civics functions, and have observed the same respect kindness, and courtesy to all I’ve seen him interact with. I’ve seen him campaign, and when he’s in that mode, he seems to be everywhere and is recognized for his unique style, and tireless work ethic.

As a property manager, I’ve worked with Mr. Malles on a few evictions together. What I’ve liked most about him is that while he was thorough and professional in his duties, I noticed that he never treated tenants with unkindness or disrespect.

Once, early in my property management days, Mr. Malles took the time to guide me on how to drill out a lock cylinder so I could save my clients a few dollars on locksmiths during lockouts.

Another time, I was intimidated by a tenant myself, but Mr. Malles, while evicting this particularly unruly tenant, kept a clear head, remained calm while making certain the tenant felt he was being heard and respected, and at the same time followed his well-organized, firm, and air eviction process. I always felt Mr. Malles was sincerely concerned for my safety, as well as my time. He was always cheerful and pleasant to work with during these necessary but unfortunate circumstances.

Sincerely,
H. Steven Johnson
Designated Broker
Lynx Realty
PO Box 1982, Gilbert, AZ 85299
646 N Cobblestone Street, Gilbert, AZ 85234
h@lynxrealtyaz.com
(602)570-2737

Jacob Beeson, Designated Broker2020-07-26T22:46:59-07:00

Maricopa County Board of Supervisors
301 W Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85003

12 October 2019

Re: Ed Malles

I have had occasion to deal with Constable Malles on numerous occasions over the past 10 years. We have met in person and spoken on the phone.

My company has managed over 100 rental units in the North Mesa Justice Court Precinct including single-family homes and multi-unit properties. My experience with Constable Malles has been overwhelmingly positive. Here are some highlights:

  1. Mr. Malles treats people with fairness and respect, even in difficult circumstances. Evictions can be tough and frankly get a little crazy. but Ed remains professional. On many occasions, he took the time to answer questions that helped to defuse potentially volatile situations.
  2. Communication: Mr. Malles always either answered his phone or returned calls quickly.• We never waited for more than an hour or so to bear back from him. I truly felt like a valued customer in dealing with Constable Malles.
  3. Experience and knowledge: Ed understands the rules and the laws and excels at applying them fairly and expeditiously. We never wondered if he knew his role and what he was doing.

I feel like Constable Malles would make an excellent JP. Please contact me directly at 602-434-0819 if I can provide more information.

Jacob Beeson
Designated Broker. co-founder
Beehive Property Management
1855 E Southern Ave #212
Mesa, AZ 85204

Terry B. Kozell, RMP2020-07-26T22:33:55-07:00

KOZELL REAL ESTATE
956 W. Coast Drlve, Gilbert, AZ 85233
Phone: 480-5904615 Fax: 480-491-2735

October 8, 2019

Clerk of the Board of Supervisor
301 W. Jefferson, 10th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors:

This letter is a recommendation for Constable Ed Malles regarding the above pending appointment.

I have had the pleasure of working with Constable Ed as the owner and Designated Broker of Action Property Management in the past 23 years. Although our property management accounts and DBA name were transferred to another property management company recently, I would be confident that Constable Ed’s skills in solving disagreements and dealing with citizens fairly would be a tremendous asset should he be selected as the Justice of the Peace for the North Mesa Justice Court.

Constable Ed has always been on time when meeting our property managers at a property due to a tenant problem. He also was helpful with good communication and provided us a number of options as needed when tenants were not being reasonable. If a difficult situation existed, Constable Ed was firm but fair and he was able to resolve any problem.

Please contact me if I can provide you any additional details regarding Constable Ed Malles.

Thank you,
Terry B. Kozell, RMP
Designated Broker and President

Dominic Arnold, Property Manager | Associate Broker2020-07-26T11:33:02-07:00

Clerk of the Board Of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson, Tenth floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

10/9/2019
Re: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Dear Supervisors,

I wanted to provide a brief recommendation for Ed Malles for the appointment of Justice of the Peace. As being a full-time property manager for the past 8 years managing over 600+ doors valley-wide, I have been very familiar with prior writs/lockouts and must fully endorse and recommend Ed for the Justice of the Peace position.

The most recent experience would be today, 10/09/2019: we received a writ from the court which was then dispatched to our locksmith Phoenix EZ Keys and within an hour this morning I had already received a phone call from Ed confirming the writ request along with the execution of the writ within a few hours.

I have also had the unpleasant and unfortunate experiences dealing with prior Constables over the years who have been absolutely less than subpar with their performance and communications drastically negatively effecting the financial wellbeing of property owners attempting to secure their properties.

I feel Ed is also a compassionate and understanding individual considering the interest and emotional well-being of the actual tenants going through the lockout process.

Ed is highly organized, attentive, and comes with my high recommendation.

If you need any additional information, please reach out as I’d be more than happy to assist.

Sincerely,
Dominic Arnold, Property Manager | Associate Broker
AZ Prime Property Real Estate Management
3920 S. Rural Rd., Ste. #110, Tempe, AZ 85282

Tia Arthur, The Osselaer Company2020-07-26T11:00:29-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson, Tenth Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

October 4, 2019

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors,

I have had the pleasure of working with Constable Ed Malles off and on over the past ten years. I work for a property management company and we have needed over twenty evections at the mobile home park. Constable Ed has always been fair to the tenants and has always responded very quickly. The evictions at this mobile home park have been tough. Constable Ed has always been able to keep the situations under control and civil. I have dealt with a few different Constables, and Mr. Malles has always been just a joy to work with.

Sincerely,
Tia Arthur
The Osselaer Company
532 E Maryland Ave, Ste F; Phoenix, AZ 85012
tia@osselaer.com

Matt Tolman2020-07-25T18:09:48-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisor
301 W. Jefferson, Tenth Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

October 10, 2019

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of North Mesa Justice Court.

Dear Supervisors,

I’ve personalty known Ed Malles for many years. I know him both personally and professionally as a property manager. I have always been impressed by his work ethic in comparison to others. He has always been firm but fair when dealing with public and tenants. I’ve never had to wait for an eviction to be completed, we would set an appointment and he would be there. I didn’t have to wait 2, 3, 4 days as was my experience as with other constables in other jurisdictions.

Many times he was already at the property when I arrived, having spoken with the tenants and made arrangements. Never once can I recall a confrontation with a tenant, he has that innate ability to diffuse .situations. He was always professional, polite, and courteous. When there was special circumstances with tenants that I was unaware of, he and I discussed the options, decisions were made and the plan was carried out. Never once did I regret an outcome.

He even came back on a couple of occasions after normal business hours at my request to ensure my safety when entering a property. No other constable did this for me. In fact, when I called other constables back for assistance, I was always told to call the local police, the property was posted.

Ed Malles would do an excellent job as a Justice of the Peace. I highly recommend him for this appointment. I would feel completely comfortable going before him if I or any family member was ever required to do so. Why? Because I know that he would be just and fair.

Sincerely,
Matt Tolman
736 E. 7th Place
Mesa, AZ 85203

Bev, Property Management2020-07-25T17:09:23-07:00

Being in the property management industry, I do business with many constables.  There is no one better than Constable Ed Malles. He is my absolute favorite!
Best Regards,

Bev

Tenant Specialist

Andrea King, Property Manager, King Property Management LLC2020-07-25T10:36:21-07:00

King Property Management LLC
P.O. Box 31900, Mesa, AZ 85275
602-377-7727
Andreako23@gmail.com

October 11th, 2019


Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

RE: the appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Ed Malles has assisted me with the Writ of Restitutions for the past several years as a Property Manager. One property, in particular, comes to mind at 735 E. Dana Ave., where Ed handled the situation with finesse, as the Tenants were holding over after the court date and were not going to leave. He diffused a confrontational situation with ease and I was able to regain possession of the property for the Owner.

Ed collaborates with me before a decision is made during the eviction process and that has always been appreciated. He has served our community for several years and -I think he is a good choice for appointment to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Sincerely,
Andrea King/Property Manager

Samuel T. Goodman, Justice of the Peace, San Tan Justice Court2020-07-25T09:36:53-07:00

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing to you in support of Mr. Ed Malles and his desire to be appointed to the North Mesa Justice of the Peace position within Maricopa County. Though many individuals ask me to make this request on their behalf, I only recommend individuals whom I feel are highly motivated and well-suited for the career of their choice. Mr. Malles is one of those individuals and shows extreme commitment in his career. Therefore, I highly recommend that he be given an opportunity to serve in the vacant North Mesa Justice of the Peace position.

As Justice of the Peace at San Tan Justice Court, I work with many individuals who have substantial knowledge of court-related activities. Mr. Malles’ analytical skills and ability to grasp new ideas are far above those of his peers. He has been working as a Constable within the Justice Courts over the last several years and I have been especially impressed with his dependability, knowledge, and possession of all the qualities that I personally look for in an elected official.

It is my opinion that Mr. Malles would make an excellent addition to Maricopa County Justice of the Peace bench. He is a fiercely intelligent and diligent worker. Furthermore, Mr. Malles enjoys the trust and respect of his peers and judicial staff. I am positive that he would become a valuable asset to the Maricopa County Judicial system and the public.

Feel free to contact me if you require any further information.

Sincerely,
Samuel T. Goodman
Justice of the Peace
San Tan Justice Court
201 E. Chicago Street, Suite #102
Chandler, AZ 85225

Cecil P. Ash, North Mesa Justice of the Peace, North Mesa Justice Court2020-07-25T09:25:09-07:00

To Whom It May Concern:

I have been the Justice of the Peace for the North Mesa Judicial Precinct since January 2013. During that time, Mr. Ed Malles has acted as the constable for this court.

Being a constable requires unique skills of tact and diplomacy to do the job well. In my opinion, Ed possesses those skills. Ed has been an excellent constable, certainly one of the best in Maricopa County. He has always served the notices and court documents in a timely fashion and works hard to see that the job is done properly.

One of the most important duties of a constable is serving eviction notices. Over time, I have come to trust that no matter the circumstances, Ed would always handle the situation carefully and with deference to all parties involved.

There have been many times when I have been working late that Ed has come to the court after hours to see that his work is completed as expeditiously as possible.

I have been honored and fortunate to have a competent constable serving our court.

Cecil P. Ash
North Mesa Justice of the Peace
North Mesa Justice Court
1837 S. Mesa Dr., Suite B-103
Mesa, AZ 85210

Lester N. Pearce, Retired Justice of the Peace, Gilbert, AZ2020-07-25T09:23:23-07:00

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in support of Ed Malles for the appointment to the North Mesa Justice Court, to fill the vacant seat created by the retirement of Justice of the Peace Cecil Ash.

I personally served 16 years as the Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court. Twelve of those years Ed Malles was the constable serving with me. When he became a constable, I asked him to do two things. One was to honor the court and the people it served. The second was to serve ALL services in a timely manner based on State Statute and the Legislative intent. Ed made it his goal to fulfill that request all twelve years that he served the court while I was there.

Ed learned quickly and used all the tools provided for him to be efficient in doing his duties. He would work early mornings or late at night to be sure he completed all the tasking at hand. Mr. Malles had an innate ability to diffuse any difficult situation. For many other reasons, I know that Mr. Malles would make a great and outstanding addition to the Maricopa Justice Court System and the public.

I give him my highest and most supportive endorsement for his appointment to be Justice of the Peace in the North Mesa Justice Court.

Please feel free to contact me with anything I could be of help in your decision.

Sincerely,

Lester N. Pearce
Retired Justice of the Peace
821 N. Country Plaza E.
Gilbert, AZ 85234
E: lester@lesterpearce.com

Russell K. Pearce2020-07-25T09:17:58-07:00

Dear Honorable Maricopa County Board of Supervisors:

Having the uncomfortable but the responsibility to appoint for open positions, I personally would like to take this opportunity to stand up for qualified and competent applicants applying for the North Mesa Justice Court Justice of the Peace.

I know several folks putting in for the North Mesa Justice Court, and I know one to be by far the best choice. The current Constable Ed Malles has served the North Mesa Justice Court for many years, and has served in honorably and is extremely hard-working and effective.

Ed is by far the hardest working Constable in all of Maricopa County. I have worked with him and he was the Constable for the entire time Lester Pearce was the Justice of the Peace for the court.

I was the very first Judge for North Mesa Justice Court when it was established and proud to say recognized as the most efficient court in Maricopa County. Ed Malles actually ran against me. He admits he did not know me and has since become a good friend. Ed is a dedicated servant to the court and those who depend on him for service.

A while back Ed brought serious issues to the Board on abuse by and among the Constables in Maricopa County and he did this to his political peril. He brought this information to former Board member Denny Barney and to current Board member Steve Chuccri. Ed was accompanied by Judge Lester Pearce, myself, and Constable Bill Taylor of the East Mesa Justice Court. Bringing attention to abuse of their duties and the improper use of deputy constables at a cost to Maricopa County.

I know some of the others putting in for the North Mesa Justice Court and find it very disturbing knowing their past performance.

Ed Malles has walked the entire Justice Court Precinct on several occasions. No one works harder than Ed.

I would like to add my endorsement for Ed Malles for the North Mesa Justice Court Justice of the Peace. He is qualified, competent, and hard-working. Ed is well-supported by the North Mesa Precinct voters.

Respectfully,
Russell K. Pearce

Cecil P. Ash, North Mesa Justice of the Peace, North Mesa Justice Court2020-07-25T09:27:21-07:00

Cecil P. Ash
North Mesa Justice of the Peace
North Mesa Justice Court
1837 S. Mesa Dr., Suite B-103
Mesa, AZ 85210
(480) 926-9731

December 5, 2016

Denny Barney
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson St., 10th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Dear Denny,

It has come to my attention recently that your chief of staff, Candice Copple, has been told that my constable in the North Mesa Judicial Precinct, Ed Malles, has been performing his duties in a Hawaiian shirt, shorts, and flip flops. Nothing could be further from the truth.

You may rest assured that Ed always dresses appropriately for his duties. Moreover, Ed has always conducted himself in a professional manner. In fact, in the four years I have been in this court I have never received a complaint against Ed regarding his constable duties. On the contrary, I have received numerous compliments for his promptness, restraint, and discretion.

Just this past Sunday, while I was attending a missionary correlation meeting for the Lehi Stake, Pres. Clark Richter paid Ed an unsolicited compliment. He mentioned that Ed, who is not a Mormon, frequently contacts the bishop or Pres. Richter when there is a serious problem concerning members of their stake. He was impressed with Ed’s sensitivity to the delicate circumstances involved in an eviction.

Unlike some constables, Ed does not carry a gun, but relies on tact and diplomacy in order to de-escalate highly emotional situations. He acts promptly in serving orders of restitution — unlike what I’ve heard about some in other jurisdictions. At JP bench meetings, when I hear others complain about their constables, I have absolutely no complaints.

I can only assume that the source of complaints against Ed must be from some other constables. Ed has worked to make the constables more efficient and professional in their service, and for that reason, I believe there has been opposition to his efforts, and probably some professional jealousy.

I am very pleased to have Ed serving as our constable in this court. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,
Cecil P. Ash
North Mesa Justice of the Peace

Joe Russell, Former Hearing Officer (2005 – 2015)2020-07-25T09:06:40-07:00

This testimonial is from an email sent to Ed Malles by Joe Russell.

 

From: Joe Russell
To: Ed Malles
Date: October 12, 2019 at 11:58 AM
Subject: Appointment

12 Oct 19

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 W. Jefferson St. 10th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

RE: Appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

I have known Ed since 2000. I met him when I started at the North Mesa Justice Court as a volunteer mediator and a Hearing Officer.

I have been with him several times as he served court documents to the public. I wanted to see the other end of those documents as generated by the courts.

As I observed him in different situations both in court and in the field, I came to the conclusion that he had the skills to perform his job in a manner that showed me not only did he know his job, but at times had compassion and used diplomacy, along with the ability to defuse confrontational situations.

I believe Ed would be an asset to the Court system as the Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court. I believe he would be firm and fair in dealing with the public.

Joe Russell
Former Hearing Officer (2005 – 2015)
1909 E. June Circle
Mesa, AZ 85203

Ralph Harmon, Owner, Harmon’s Safe, Lock & Key2020-07-25T08:02:45-07:00

Ed Malles for Justice Of The Peace Mesa Arizona, testimonial from Ralph Harmon Harmons Safe Lock and Key Ed Malles for Justice Of The Peace Mesa Arizona, testimonial from Ralph Harmon Harmons Safe Lock and Key

Thomas Console, Owner, Budget Lock and Key2020-07-25T07:49:56-07:00

Attn: Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson 10th floor
Phoenix Arizona, 85003

RE: The appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Hello,
I would like to recommend that you highly consider Constable Ed Malles to be appointed for Justice of the Peace for the North Mesa Justice Court.

I am the owner of a locksmith company and have dealt with Ed Malles many times over the years. When I get the unfortunate job of having to do an eviction, the situation can be very chaotic and dangerous at times. Constable Ed Malles is the best at calming the situation, getting the irate tenants on his side, and making the scene much easier for me to work in. He does this without ever raising his voice, carrying a gun, or showing any signs of violence. In my 35 years in business, it is very hard to find someone who is so good at remaining calm and making the best of an unpleasant situation.

Thomas Console Budget Lock & Key
P.O. Box 25565
Scottsdale, AZ 85255

Charles Randall, Manager, Phoenix EZ-Keys2020-07-25T07:42:09-07:00

To the Clerk of Supervisors,
301 W Jefferson, Tenth Floor,
Phoenix, AZ 85003

10/10/19
Appointment of Constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court

Dear Supervisors,
I was asked to write a letter of recommendation for my favorite Constable, Ed Malles. Ed has always been very professional every time I’ve ever worked with him, which has been a lot. If I had to estimate would say Ed and I have done at least 50 evictions together, and in those times I have never had one bad experience with him. He is always very professional, is level-headed, communicates well, answers his phone, and is always looking out for our safety and best interest. If you’re looking for someone that does it by the book, has a cool demeanor, and takes the time to do the job right, it’s Ed. I have worked with a·dozen or so other Constables and would have to say Ed is by far my favorite to work with. He will take the time to make sure the people know what is happening and what their next course of action might be needed. l would highly recommend Ed for any position in which Justice is at stake; his fair nature, his ability to see things from many angles, and his attribute of being very detailed are perfect for the position he is being looked at for.

William Doyle, Locksmith, Phoenix EZ-Keys2020-07-25T07:42:49-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th floor
Phoenix, Arizona, 85003

10/9/2019
RE: The appointment of constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

My name is William Doyle. I am a current locksmith employee with Phoenix EZ Keys. I have been with Phoenix EZ Keys going on three years and have had the pleasure to work with constable Ed on many different occasions. Since my first day meeting Constable Ed he has always had a calm and positive demeanor. You can tell he is very passionate about his job; with that being said, unlike other constables, Ed always·goes the extra mile to make sure all of my lockouts are as smooth as possible. He clears every house before letting me into any property. Also, he unplugs the garage and makes sure all the windows are locked while I’m rekeying, which no other constable has ever done. Ed taught me what to look and listen for when approaching a property, still until this day I use these tactics when going into a lockout or abandoned property. His attention to detail and planning is phenomenal. Ed always contacts me beforehand so we can meet at the property at the same time. He thoroughly explains any information.he has on the property and the situation. He puts me in a good physical position as he knocks on the door or makes entry which shows he cares about everyone’s safety. Ed is the only constable that I know who doesn’t carry a weapon and can diffuse any situation through his calm conversation with individuals.

Gage Blue, Locksmith, Phoenix EZ-Keys2020-07-25T07:43:36-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th floor
Phoenix, Arizona, 85003

10/8/2019
RE: The appointment of constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

Out of the last 7 years, I have been a locksmith I have completed hundreds of constable lockouts, and the only constable that I can truly say does his job to the fullest and goes above and beyond is Ed Malles. At this point, Ed and I personally have probably done around SO plus jobs just here in the East Valley. No one else comes close to his work ethic and how well he actually completes his jobs and does everything 100% the way he needs to, and the way we need him to. I am always very impressed by the way he handles stressful situations as well. There have been a few times where the evicted persons were quite angry and upset and Ed, who doesn’t carry a gun like many others, is able to calmly de-escalate the situation and he has a way of speaking to everyone with respect and no matter how upset the person is once Ed starts talking to them they will always calm down and begin to listen and always ends with them respecting Ed and listening to his words. He is strong and concise in telling people what they need to do, but again, always respectful and you can easily see how compassionate Ed. can be. Fair, compassionate, and respectful, but strong in his belief to follow the rules and to be firm in his words.

Another thing I appreciate is Ed’s desire to maintain safety in every situation. He is the only constable who makes sure we stand back once the door is opened and clears the house before he gives us the OK to enter the property. It’s very by the book and it’s exactly the way these situations need to be. On top of safety being one of the things we appreciate, there is also Ed’s communication skills. Not only with the people we meet, but with us. He always answers his phone, tells us his ETA, and many times lets us know when he will be free so that we can get to jobs earlier and it helps us throughout our entire day and helps us keep our schedule perfectly. Honestly, just knowing that Ed will be the constable I will be meeting with on the way to a lockout eviction immediately makes the day better and I look forward to knowing it will be a smooth and safe job, and that I can trust Ed, and know that it will be a professional and great experience, especially when I have only ever seen Ed in a great mood and it helps every situation. All in all, I wish every constable was like Ed. We need more people doing great this the way that Ed does, and handles situations and cares about all others the way he does. If anyone is to be appointed to be Justice of the Peace in North Mesa, or anywhere for that matter, it should be Ed.

Eric Evans, Owner, Phoenix EZ-Keys2020-07-25T07:51:08-07:00

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
301 West Jefferson, 10th floor
Phoenix, Arizona, 85003

10/9/2019

Re: The appointment of constable Ed Malles to Justice of the Peace of the North Mesa Justice Court.

My name is Eric Evans. I’m the owner of a local locksmith, Phoenix EZ-Keys. We have been in business for 11 years and have had the “JOY” of working with Constable Ed Malles. We have processed thousands of constable lockouts during the 2008 bank crisis and into the current years of property management. We have had the opportunity to build relationships with Constables all around the valley. With this experience in mind, hands down the best Constable we have worked with is Ed Malles. This is for numerous reasons. I will list but a few in this letter for time’s sake.

First off, Constable Ed’s attention to detail is wonderful and welcoming. It’s obvious he follows protocol and guidelines every order he must process. He has a system and works that system without fail every time we meet. One of the main parts of Constable Ed’s system is the safety and welfare of all parties involved. He has displayed this numerous times to my employees and clients. He typically does not allow property managers/owners to approach the property until the property is all clear. He does not allow our locksmiths to enter the property until he has thoroughly cleared the property or calmly, regardless of circumstances, communicated with residents about the proceedings. He has even devised code words or phrases before we process property in case we need to exit in a calm, hurried fashion. He cares about all parties involved and has well-thought-out game plans.

Secondly, I would like to go over a horror story that I can remember doing with Constable Ed but honestly, I can not think of any. There have for sure been situations that were a bit hostile, heated, or confrontational. In these situations, Constable Ed’s demeanor of being calm, compassionate, and understanding seems to diffuse the situation almost before it starts. He has the ability to hear the occupant’s side of the story and do what he can do within his power to make the process as smooth as possible or check into any loose ends that may be presented at the time of eviction. This seems to build immediate trust with the parties involved. Although most of the time it does not go the occupant’s way in these proceedings, they seem to respect Constable Ed’s firm manner. Very calm, but direct and firm. I also feel that these proceedings go smoothly because he does not carry a firearm even though some of these situations are heated. He very much relies on his ability to diplomatically handle the situations. For us, this has resulted in the smoothest and safest lockouts processed.

Thirdly, it is a great strength of Constable Ed to communicate and keep in touch the whole process of the eviction. He is wonderful at answering the phone even if briefly just to let individuals know he is on the case and how to plan accordingly. He doesn’t dodge phone calls or communicate last-minute. He is always thinking ahead of the game, building effective contingencies along the way.

The last two things I can think of that are great characteristics of Ed Malles would be his timeliness & a good attitude. He has always made it a point to show up on time for his appointments with us. He values all parties’ time and that makes it so much easier to do what we can to value his. This is not always the case working with other Constables. In addition, when Ed shows up, he always has a positive attitude. He is never grumpy, never seems too busy or upset to be doing his job. We enjoy working with Constable Ed every opportunity we get because he is a team player. Obviously, he is the captain as he takes point on the jobs or proceedings. But his leadership qualities and good calm, balanced, decision-making create an awesome environment to be a part of.

Go to Top